Cerinthe Dream

Cerinthe Dream

Cerinthe plants volunteer in my garden each year, reliably springing forth from last year’s seeds to tempt bees and hummingbirds with their nodding purple blooms and sweet nectar.

I’m a sucker for unusually shaped and colored flowers, and I’ve loved Cerinthe (Blue Honeywort or Blue Shrimp Plant) for years. I picked up a seed packet of Cerinthe major purpurascens (shown here) on a whim, and when I saw their blue and purple bracts and beautiful purple flowers for the first time, I was hooked. I’ve also grown the extremely rare Cerinthe retorta, and it is wonderful as well.

 

Join my mailing list for periodic discounts, promotions, and news.

Visit my full photography and art portfolio at: priyaghose.com

Click on the picture below to purchase a print of this photograph:

Cerinthe Photography Prints

12 thoughts on “Cerinthe Dream

  1. Artistic Wedding Photographer

    How pretty! I wonder if it is the same as what I have in my yard: it has dots on the leaves. Is it the same? I just took some pictures of mine but it has been windy and these leaves shake for the tiniest movement. Not sure I got any sharp enough…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

