Lotus Glow

Lotus flower

Beautiful and delicate, Bowl Lotus ‘Beautiful Dancer’ appears to glow in the soft afternoon sunlight.

I’ve been growing waterlilies for years, and they always take off and bloom fantastically in my tiny ponds. Growing lotus has been much more of a challenge. I’ve selected the smallest lotus type available, called “bowl lotus,” and they are supposed to do well in small pots.

The first year I grew them was a complete failure, as raccoons used the water to vigorously wash their food and paws each night, and the tiny signs of life from each lotus soon vanished and I was left with rotting tubers. The bloom on ‘Beautiful Dancer’ pictured above is from my second attempt at growing lotus (last year), and out of my three lotus plants it was the only one to successfully grow and bloom. I’m currently trying again, and while I have leaves on two of my plants (no sign of flower buds), one of them didn’t sprout or show any signs of life at all after I planted it.

While this photograph, ‘Lotus Glow,’ is one of my best selling images, I can’t help but wonder if I should stick to growing waterlilies in the future…

VIEW MY COMPLETE PORTFOLIO

JOIN MY E-MAIL LIST for periodic updates & special offers

 

Click on the image to purchase a print of this photograph:
Lotus Photography Prints

19 thoughts on “Lotus Glow

  1. myfoodandflowers

    Beautiful image! Do you sell lotus seeds for planting? My friend gave me some but I grew them too early and wasn’t warm enough so they did not make it. 😦 I just need 5-10 seeds.

    Reply
    1. Priya Ghose Post author

      Thank you so much! This year looks to be a bust in the lotus bloom department yet again…I’m glad to have photographic proof that I had success at least once 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

