A Gulf Fritillary Butterfly Sits On My Finger…

A Gulf Fritillary Butterfly Sits On My Finger...

A Gulf Fritillary Butterfly (Agraulis vanillae), newly emerged from its chrysalis, sits on my finger before taking its first flight.

I’ve written a bit about the life cycle of the gulf frittilary butterfly here but just wanted to share another photo of one of these cuties, lightly tickling my finger. There are currently many female gulf frittilary butterflies flying about the garden, looking to lay their eggs. They are so intent on their purpose that they completely ignore me as I come up close; I watch them lay eggs on passionflower vine leaves, tendrils, and even flowers.

VIEW MY COMPLETE PORTFOLIO

JOIN MY E-MAIL LIST for periodic updates & special offers

Click the image to purchase a print of ‘Time To Fly’
Gulf Fritillary Butterfly Photography

31 thoughts on “A Gulf Fritillary Butterfly Sits On My Finger…

      1. Priya Ghose Post author

        Thank you! I’ve spent the past year dealing with ongoing hand and arm issues, so this image wouldn’t happen these days…hopefully again at some point in the future.

      2. Priya Ghose Post author

        I hear you. I now shoot with the Sony A7r…it’s wonderful to be able to photograph handheld again, as I had a hard time setting up my tripod as well.

      3. Priya Ghose Post author

        I really like it so far, but I’m missing my beloved macro lenses (I have a converter, but haven’t played around with that set up thus far, as this is a fairly new camera)

  1. Lilium Forest

    I love being able to see this butterfly in such detail and what a treat to be able to hold it on your finger! Your little garden is such a beautiful wildlife sanctuary! LF

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Rare butterflies in the Netherlands | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

