Iceland Poppy In Black And White

 

Poppy Photography Prints

Delicate crinkly petals unfold to reveal the heart of this Iceland Poppy.

I sold a print of this image earlier in the week, and realized that it was the first black and white photograph I’ve ever sold online. A black and white conversion of one of my first photographs I took after purchasing a macro lens, I took it at a local nursery on a rainy March afternoon. Huddled alongside the nursery’s early spring offerings under their shade cloth, I photographed poppy after poppy. I normally gravitate toward color in my work, especially in my floral photography. However, the absence of it in this image really enhances the textural components in the delicate, crinkly poppy petals.

Here is the color version of this photograph. Which one do you like best?

Orange Poppy Photograph

Click on either image to view more details about the photograph and to purchase a print on my website.

VIEW MY COMPLETE PORTFOLIO

JOIN MY E-MAIL LIST for periodic updates & special offers

 

23 thoughts on “Iceland Poppy In Black And White

  1. Jennavieve "JJ" Joshua

    Hi Priya! I loved that you invited the viewer to look at both versions and suggested we ponder which one we like best—I could not decide! I have fallen in love with poppies in the recent years. I wish I had a place to hang this one—I would probably choose the color one!
    thank you for sharing, JJ

    Reply
    1. Priya Ghose Post author

      Thank you! It’s interesting to view the comments with regard to color vs. black and white version preference…and just goes to show that I should provide both versions for sale.

      Reply
    1. Priya Ghose Post author

      Thank you Laura! I will take your comment as another vote for black and white…it’s great to have feedback about different versions of the same piece.

      Reply
      1. lauramacky

        It is interesting isn’t it. I’ve that a few times and thought people would vote for a certain image and then I get mixed results. Just goes to show how subjective art is. You’re welcome!!

      2. Priya Ghose Post author

        Subjective indeed, and very good feedback on my idea to offer both color and black and white versions of images which hold up to both treatments…

  2. Lilium Forest

    Interesting question, Priya. I liked seeing the two images together. Black and white is always wonderful for detail, as you have clearly demonstrated in your black and white image, but living up in the Pacific Northwest where we have a number of months that are very gray, I go for the color!

    Reply
  3. sheketechad

    I really prefer the B&W, primarily due to the details that it reveals that are visible really only when the contrasts are so stark. Beautiful piece, either way.

    Reply
    1. Priya Ghose Post author

      Thank you! It looks like preferences for black and white vs. color are about even according to those who commented with an opinion…interesting!

      Reply
  4. littledogslaughed

    Poppies are among my favorite flowers and you did a marvelous job with both images-with the black and white particularly, the sculptural aspects of the flower are perfectly captured!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

