The Goose Chase

Ah, the simple pleasures of childhood. A young boy chases a large white goose at the park, their steps in synch as they run down to the lake…

Photograph of Boy Chasing A Goose

I discovered that I love photographing people quite by accident. I brought a new lens to test at a local park which has the trail-head for one of my favorite walking paths, and after my walk I took out my camera and looked for something to shoot. People, geese, ducks, dogs, and egrets were everywhere. I’d already established that I enjoy photographing animals, so I was drawn to the people.

Kids of all ages crawled, toddled, and ran, and families played games on the grass. The usual group of old men occupied the picnic tables as they did every afternoon, intent on their mysterious (to me) board game. Women in spandex power-walked past me, arms vigorously swinging and propelling them forward. A small group of people practiced tai chi, their movements deliberate and fluid. The bocci ball courts were in use with varying levels of seriousness, and children flew through the air on the swing-set, and spun around and climbed on various playground contraptions and equipment.

I took in all of this activity, capturing candid moments in time as people went about their business. The geese and ducks were very tame and waddled around amidst the people, hoping for a handout of stale bread or some other delectable treat.

The presence of a goose proved irresistible to a young boy, who chased it down to the lake. I took one photograph of his chase, only noticing later that goose and boy were running in synch with each other. This is that photograph.

VIEW MY COMPLETE PORTFOLIO

JOIN MY E-MAIL LIST for periodic updates & special offers

Purchase a print of ‘The Goose Chase’ by clicking on the image: Goose Chase Photograph

23 thoughts on “The Goose Chase

  1. Jennavieve "JJ" Joshua

    This pic and the “Lunch on the Run” are two of my favorite photos of yours! I love pics that tell a story . . this is a GREAT story. You have a fine way of being in the right place and the right time. . . thank you! Jennavive

    Reply
  2. cluelessdoctors

    I just realized for some reason that you are on FineArtAmerica as well… Did we know that we are both there as well? I just liked and favorited this and another photo. Hugs, Angela

    Reply
  3. Lilium Forest

    I absolutely love, love, love this photo! Doesn’t matter whether you are taking a picture of plant, animal, landscape, old weathered buildings or people, you have a way with capturing the essence. This picture is definitely a heart warmer! I feel right there, enjoying it all! Thank you!

    Reply
  4. lauramacky

    This is just darling. And a white goose! It’s a perfect contrast. If it had been a canadian goose like they are here, it wouldn’t have had the impact. Love it!

    Reply
    1. Priya Ghose Post author

      Thank you! The majority of the geese at the park are canada geese, but there is one white male goose and he has two female companions. They always make me smile when I seem them strutting about, and the male is quick to chase off any canada geese that get to close too his lovely ladies.

      Reply
      1. lauramacky

        How funny. I’ve seen snow geese and I’m wondering if that’s what it is…or an albino? How cute that you are witnessing their little society. 🙂

Leave a Reply

