Winter Rose With Dew

Pink Rose With Raindrops

A soft and dreamy image of a deep pink miniature rose beaded with winter dew…

One of the best things about living in the San Francisco Bay Area in zone 9b is having a garden that flourishes throughout the entire year. My yard grows lush with new vegetation and both continual and early “Spring” blooms in the months of December, January, and February. By March and April, it is the height of Spring; if I’m not diligent, my vines will sneak ever closer to the house, and begin twining up the sides and entangling their strong and nimble climbing supports into my window screens. One day of inattention, and my passionflowers begin peeping into my kitchen and living room.

While Winter roses lie dormant under snow in much of the country, this time of year brings a heavy flush of blooms to my miniature rose bush. I love to go out into my small garden first thing in the morning and capture images of dew or raindrop remnants on the petals and leaves of various plants. Crouching down low, peering at these little drops of magic through my macro lens gives me great joy.

VIEW MY COMPLETE PORTFOLIO

JOIN MY E-MAIL LIST for periodic updates & special offers

Click on the image to purchase a photography print of ‘Winter Rose’ Rose With Dew Photo

20 thoughts on “Winter Rose With Dew

  1. Lilium Forest

    I laughed out loud at your description of the exuberant growers in your garden, and passionflowers are well-named! People who come into my garden in the spring say they are afraid that if they stand still for even a few minutes, they will be covered with growth. You have captured the preciousness of the intimacy of being in your garden in the early morning time so beautifully in the freshness of dew drops on a lovely little rose blossom. You certainly have a way with the macro lens!

    Reply
  2. janetweightreed10

    Such a beautiful image. I think that San Fran,England and a place in Japan have the same fortunate climate, although I must say that the UK is feeling the effects of climate change.
    San Francisco is one of my favourite places in the States. Janet:)

    Reply
    1. Priya Ghose Post author

      Thank you! I am in the southern part of the Bay Area, and our weather is more varied than in San Francisco itself (much, much, much more sun, and we can also get a little cooler as well). We are currently in the middle of a pretty bad drought here, which is perhaps part of the reason I am drawn to post photos from my lush winter garden…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

